Government announced 27 new smart cities

The government of India on Tuesday announced 27 new cities as another list of Smart Cities. This is third list of smart cities from BJP government.

There are 5 cities selected from Maharashtra state of India — Aurangabad, Kalyan-Dombivli, Nagpur, Nashik and Thane. Tamil Nadu has Madurai, Salem, Thanjavur and Vellore, whereas Karnataka has Hubli-Dharwad, Mangaluru, Shivamogga and Tumakuru.

Venkaiah Naidu, the Minister for Urban Development, announced the list of new cities.”I am happy to state that the transformational Smart City Plan is running ahead of schedule,” said Mr. Naidu.

The 27 cities will require investment of Rs 66,883 crore. According to urban development ministry’s estimate, Rs 1.44 lakh crore investment has been proposed by the 60 cities that have been selected so far under their smart city plans. Officials said that 82 projects are already under implementation in the first batch of 20 smart cities and another 113 projects will soon take off the ground. Naidu said in the next one year, one would get to see smart cities taking shape.Under the Smart City mission, the Central government provides Rs 500 crore for each city over five years with states making matching contribution.

List of cities

Smart city list




Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *