PMBOK Project Management Body of Knowledge

A Guide to the Project Management Body of Knowledge (PMBOK Guide) is a book which presents a set of standard terminology and guidelines for project management. The Project Management Institute (PMI) is a not-for-profit professional organization for the project management profession with the purpose of advancing project management.

The Guide recognizes 47 processes that fall into five basic process groups and ten knowledge areas that are typical of most projects, most of the time.

PMBOK five process groups

  1.     Initiating
  2.     Planning
  3.     Executing
  4.     Monitoring and Controlling
  5.     Closing

PMBOK ten knowledge areas

  1.     Project Integration Management
  2.     Project Scope Management
  3.     Project Time Management
  4.     Project Cost Management
  5.     Project Quality Management
  6.     Project Human Resource Management
  7.     Project Communications Management
  8.     Project Risk Management
  9.     Project Procurement Management
  10.     Project Stakeholders Management (added in 5th edition)

Each of the ten knowledge areas contains the processes that need to be accomplished within its discipline in order to achieve effective project management.

PMBOK Process
PMBOK Processes

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *